• Back to Previous

ESYO Symphony Orchestra Performs Tchaikovsky 4

  • Dates: April 14, 2019
  • Time: 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM
  • Price: Suggested Price: $20
  • Overview

    Led by new Music Director Carlos Ágreda, Empire State Youth Orchestra's Symphony Orchestra spring concert is a celebration of community spirit. Our journey begins with Brazilian composer M. Camargo Guarnieri's vibrant "Three dances for orchestra," inspired by the carnival celebrations and parades that fill the streets of Brazilian cities. Anchored by Tchaikovsky's powerful Fourth Symphony, we explore the power of fate, destiny, and hope shaped by a sense of community.

    The concert also features the winner of ESYO’s Annual Lois Lyman Concerto Competition, cellist William Han. At 16 years old, the young virtuoso will lead the orchestra in a passionate performance of Shostakovich's "Cello Concerto No. 1." Named after a music teacher and one of ESYO’s founding members, the Lois Lyman Concerto Competition has showcased some of the area’s finest musicians since 1985.